Too much packaging, not enough value

DSC_0006

Look at all the unhelpful packaging that comes with my birth control pills. Everything but the pack itself goes straight into the trash. The last time I picked up my prescription, I watched the pharmacist take it off a shelf, unwrap the pills from a foil pouch, put it a blue plastic “privacy pouch,” staple paper to it and put it in a paper bag, then into a plastic bag. She then hands it to me, asks me if I have any questions (after 10 years of being on the pill, I say no), and I pay $15. I see absolutely no value to me, the patient, in the exchange above.

In this vein, I have decided that CVS pharmacy will not profit from my monthly obligatory trips to the pharmacy to pick up birth control. Whereas I would usually wait my 15 minutes browsing the aisles and picking up unnecessary products, I have decided to pointedly boycott the absent-minded spending and just pay for the pills, and leave.

Leave a Reply

